News Archive

Congratulations to William L. Jorgensen who has been appointed as a Sterling Professor of Chemistry, one of the University's highest faculty honors. more

Congratulations to Professor Mark Johnson who has been elected as a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS). Members of the AAAS represent innovative thinkers in every field and profession, including more than 250 Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners.  Click here to see the announcement in the Yale Bulletin.

The Department of Chemistry was pleased to host tryouts for this year’s national Chemistry Olympiad on April 25. more

We are pleased to welcome Nilay Hazari who will join our faculty as an Assistant Professor on July 1, 2009. Having done his Ph.D. as a Rhodes Scholar at Oxford University and postdoctoral studies at the California Institute of Technology, Professor Hazari will initiate a program of research in synthetic inorganic and organometallic chemistry.

Congratulations to David Spiegel's lab for receiving a Grand Challenges Explorations grant from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. This grant will fund work related to the development of new antibiotic strategies to minimize the development of bacterial resistance.

Ann Valentine has been awarded the Paul D. Saltman Memorial Award, given annually by the Gordon Research Conferences, in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the field of metals in biology. Click here to read the write-up in the Yale Bulletin.

Scott J. Miller has received the Yoshimasa Hirata Memorial Gold Medal from Nagoya University. In honor of Professor Yoshimasa Hirata, a towering figure in natural products chemistry, Professor Miller recently delivered the Hirata Memorial Lecture in Nagoya, Japan.

Congratulations to Paul Anastas, named by the Yale Corporation the inaugural Teresa and John H. Heinz III Chair for Chemistry for the Environment.

Peter Moore has been elected President-Elect of the Biophysical Society. He will assume this office at the 2009 Annual Meeting in Boston. His term as President will begin in 2010.

Alanna Schepartz has been awarded Harvard University's 2008-2009 Frank H. Westheimer Prize in recognition of her outstanding research in chemistry and chemical biology. more

Department of Chemistry Graduate School alumna, Laura Kiessling, Hilldale Professor of Chemistry and Laurens Anderson Professor of Biochemistry at The University of Wisconson-Madison, has been awarded the 2008 Wilbur Lucius Cross Medal. more

Congratulations to Prof. Seth Herzon, who has been recognized with an Eli Lilly New Faculty Award. This honor is in recognition of Seth's exciting research programs in the area of synthetic organic chemistry.

The Department of Chemistry and the New Haven Section of the ACS has awarded the 2008 Kirkwood Medal to MIT Professor JoAnne Stubbe. The award is presented biennially for "outstanding contributions to the field of Chemistry," and honors the late Prof. John G. Kirkwood, former Sterling Professor of Chemistry and Chairman of the Department at Yale. View photos from the May 1, 2008 award ceremony.

Congratulations to Prof. David Spiegel, who has won this year's Ellison Medical Foundation New Scholar Award for work on the chemistry of advanced glycation end-products.

Paul Anastas has received the Leadership in Science award from the Council of Scientific Society Presidents.

Scott Miller and Gary Brudvig receive endowed professorships. Read the articles in the Yale Bulletin & Calendar: Scott Miller, Gary Brudvig

Seth Herzon has joined our organic chemistry group as Assistant Professor as of July 2008. Seth was a Postdoctoral Fellow with John Hartwig at the University of Illinois, having completed doctoral studies with Andrew Myers at Harvard. more

Don Crothers awarded the Yale's 2008 DeVane Award for Distinguished Scholarship and Teaching. more

Don Crothers awarded the 2008 Emily A. Gray Award of the Biophysical Society! more

High resolution structure of first protein composed entirely of beta amino acids chosen as one of 2007's most important advances in Chemistry. See D.S. Daniels, E.J. Petersson, J.X. Qiu, & A. Schepartz, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2007, 129, 1532-1533. more
Click here to see the structure

Check out the pictures from Kenneth Wiberg's 80th birthday celebration!

The 2007 William A. Chupka Lecture was presented by Richard N. Zare. Click here to check out the pictures!

Congratulations to Prof. William Jorgensen, who has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2007!

Congratulations to Paul Anastas, elected AAAS Fellow for 2007!

We are pleased to announce that David Spiegel has won an NIH New Innovator Award. The award is for $1.5 million over 5 years and was granted to 30 people out of 2,200 applicants. Only 3 of the awardees, including David, are in chemistry departments! Follow the links for more info: Yale Daily News, NIH NIA Recipients

Congratulations to David Spiegel, a Camille and Henry Dreyfus New Faculty Awardee!

We are pleased to announce that a research team consisting of Gary Brudvig, Victor Batista, Robert Crabtree, Charles Schmuttenmaer and coworkers has been awarded an U.S. Department of Energy grant for Basic Solar Energy Research. The award is for $1.44 million for over 3 years. more

Congratulations to Glenn Micalizio, a Boehringer Ingelheim New Investigator Awardee!

Congratulations to Kurt Zilm, elected AAAS Fellow in 2006!

Congratulations to Mark Johnson for making the top ten discoveries list for 2004 in Science! Follow the links for more info:
Science Magazine
Cover Story for C&E News Chemistry Highlights 2005
C&E News Science & Technology Concentrates 2007