Robert H. Crabtree

Professor of Chemistry
Member of Yale faculty since 1977


Research Design and synthesis of inorganic, coordination or organometallic molecules with unusual structures and properties. These are typically catalytic properties for atom economic (green) transformations, bioinorganic relevance or utility in alternative energy strategies, such as solar energy and hydrogen storage. Molecular recognition is applied to homogeneous catalysis to obtain high selectivity. Computational and physicochemical insights are obtained from collaborative work. Please note that I am not taking any more students into the group.

B.A. New College, Oxford 1970
Ph.D. Sussex University 1973
Postdoctoral Fellow, CNRS, Gif-s-Yvette, France, 1973-75
Attaché de Recherche, Gif, 1975-77

DuPont Young Faculty Fellow, 1977
A.P. Sloan Foundation Fellow, 1981
Junior Faculty Fellow, Yale, 1981
Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, 1982
Corday-Morgan Medal, 1984
Esso Lectureship, Toronto, 1986
Albright and Wilson Visiting Prof., Warwick, 1986
Editorial Board, Chemical Reviews, 1990
Organometallic Chemistry Prize of RSC, 1991
Organometallic Chemistry Prize of ACS, 1993
Mack Award, Ohio State Univ., 1994
Editorial Board, J. Mol. Catal., 1995
Assoc. Ed., Americas, New J. Chem., 1998
Chair, Div. of Inorg. Chem., ACS., 1998
Ed. Board, Comptes Rendues (Paris), 1998
Dow Lecturer, Univ. of Ottowa, 1999
ISI Highly Cited Author Award, 2000
Bailar Medal, Univ. of Illinois, 2001
Rh Bicentennial Award; Ed. Board, Coor. Chem. Rev., 2002
Dow Lecturer, Berkeley, Williams Lecture, Oxford, 2004
Sabatier Lecture, Toulouse; Brewster Lecture, Kansas, 2006
Board of Regional Editors, Science, 2006-present
Karcher Medal (Oklahoma), 2007
Pedersen Lecture (duPont), Lutz Lecture (U Va), 2008
John Osborn Lecturer (Strasbourg); Mond Lecture Series, Roy. Soc. Chem; Shore Lecture (Ohio State U), 2009
Kosolapoff Award (ACS and Auburn Univ), 2010
Rothchild Lecture (Rochester U), 2010
Stauffer Lecture (USC), 2010
C.P. Whitehead Professor, Yale, 2010
King Lecture (U Ga), 2011
Fellow of ACS, 2011
Fellow of IUPAC, 2011
Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, 2011
McElvain Lecture (U Wisc., Madison), 2013
Yale Postdoctoral Mentoring Award, 2013
Siedle Lecture (U Indiana), 2014
Centenary Award (Roy. Soc. Chem.), 2014
Geoffrey Goates Inorganic Award (U. Wyoming), 2015
Thompson Reuters 'Most influential' list, 2015
D.Sc. (Hon.) Univ. of Bath, 2016
Eisch Lecture (SUNY, Binghampton), 2016

Recent Publications

S.B. Sinha, D. Shopov, L.S. Sharninghausen, D. Vinyard, B. Mercado, G.W. Brudvig, R.H. Crabtree, A Stable Coordination Complex of Rh(IV) in an N,O-donor Environment, J. Amer. Chem. Soc., 2016, 138, 15692.

R.H. Crabtree, Deactivation in Homogeneous Transition Metal Catalysis: Causes, Avoidance and Cure, Chem. Rev., 2015, 105, 127.

J. Campos, L.S. Sharninghausen, R.H. Crabtree, D. Balcells, A Carbene-Rich But Carbonyl-Poor [Ir6(IMe)8(CO)2(H)14]2+ Polyhydride Cluster as a Deactivation Product From Catalytic Glycerol Dehydrogenation, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2014, 53, 12808.

J. Campos, L.S. Sharninghausen, M.G. Manas, R.H. Crabtree, Efficient, selective and atom economic catalytic conversion of glycerol to lactic acid, Nature Communications, 2014, 5, 5084.

J. Campos, U. Hintermair, T.P. Brewster, M.K. Takase, & R.H. Crabtree. Catalyst Activation by Loss of Cyclopentadienyl Ligands in Hydrogen Transfer Catalysis with Cp*IrIII Complexes. ACS Catal. 2014, 4, 973–985.

J. Huang, J.D. Blakemore, D. Fazi, O. Kokhan, N.D. Schley, R.H. Crabtree, G.W. Brudvig, & D.M. Tiede. Domain structure for an amorphous iridium-oxide water-oxidation catalyst characterized by X-ray pair distribution function analysis. PCCP. 2014, 16, 1814-1819.

T.P. Brewster, S.J. Konezny, S.W. Sheehan, L.A. Martini, C.A. Schmuttenmaer, V.S. Batista, & R.H. Crabtree. Hydroxamate Anchors for Improved Photoconversion in Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells. Inorg. Chem. 2013, 52, 6752-6764.

Robert H. Crabtree

Research Interests